2017 Alumni Game Recap

The 14th Annual Iowa Lacrosse Alumni Game was held on September 15th in Iowa City.  The alumni lost against the current Iowa squad, but much fun was had by all.

Our alumni weekend features two events: The first is our Friday night game of Alumni vs. Current Team. The second is Saturday’s football tailgate at the Biedeman’s 1968 Army Ambulance. The tailgate is held all day and includes bags/giant jenga/rings games, watching football, networking with alum/team, and a giant spread of BBQ prepared by the alumni.

We encourage all lacrosse alumni, team and family/friends to join us for our epic tailgate!

For Iowa Lacrosse’s most senior alumni, Jose Cesteros (84 years), this was his last alumni game as he will be moving to Spain. We wish him all the best.

2015 Team Awards & 2016 Alumni Game Info

With the 2015 season ending in May, here are the end of the year awards for the 2015 season:

Offense MVP: Austin Patrick
Defensive MVP: Ryan Davenport
Thomas Plotkin: Cooper Perry
Most Improved: Dylan Rey

Also, next year’s captains will be the following four players:  Nick Block, Austin Kleihban, Johnny Burns and Connor Graf.  And next year’s Team President will be Nick Block.

The 2016 Alumni Game will take place on Friday, September 9 at the Indoor Field at the Hawkeye Recreation Fields at 7 PM.

2015 Big Ten Challenge Information

Iowa will be participating in the 2015 Big Ten Challenge on Saturday at Graf Park in Wheaton, Illinois (1855 Manchester Rd, Wheaton, IL).  Here is a PDF with parking information.

Here is the full schedule:

Turf Field
1:30  WI RED – IOWA
3:00 WI RED – OSU
4:30 WI RED – NWU

Grass Field
1:30  OSU – NWU
3:00 IOWA – NWU
4:30 OSU – IOWA

Winner , Second & Third place will be determined:
1. Overall record
2. Head to Head competition
3. Goal Differential
4. Total Goals

2015 End of Season Information

The 2015 season came to end with a 8-5 loss to Purdue in the GRLC Championship Game.  This was the end of a very successful season, with the Hawkeyes winning the West Division title for the first time in program history and having clinched a first-round bye into the playoffs.

The GRLC named this year’s All-Conference teams with six Hawkeyes being named to the various teams, and our coach being named GRLC Coach of the Year.

All-GRLC Division I 1st Team: Frank Recchia (Midfield), Austin Patrick (Attack), Matt Sambo (Defense), John Rejowski (D-Mid)
All-GRLC Division I 2nd Team: Patric Russell (Attack)
All-GRLC Division I 3rd Team: Cooper Perry (Midfield)
All-GRLC Division I Coach of the Year: Zak Katz

And here are the results of our end of the year team meeting and voting by players.

Offensive MVP: Austin Patrick
Defensive MVP: Matt Sambo
Tom Plotkin Award: John Koenig
Most Improved Player: Taylor McPherson

The team also voted on next year’s captains with the following players being voted on by the players:  Austin Patrick, Frank Recchia and Cooper Perry.

And finally, next season’s Team President will be Cooper Perry, while the Co-Vice Presidents will be Nick Block and James Fisher.

Fall Meeting & Alumni Game Information

The informational meeting about tryouts and the upcoming season will be held on Monday, September 1 from 6:30 to 7:30PM in the Ohio State Room of the IMU.

Also, the 2014 Alumni Game will be held the weekend of October 10.  The game will be on Friday, October 10 at 7:30 PM at the Hawkeye Rec Fields.  Tailgating before the football game on Saturday will take place at the Beideman’s Army Ambulance starting at 8:00 AM with a party being held at the lacrosse house on Clinton Street later that night at 8:00 PM.  For more information, please contact Eddie Lee (edwardleelax@yahoo.com). Please spread the word to other alumni.

End Of Season Awards Announced

The Hawkeyes recently had their end of the year meeting and have come out with awards and new positions for the team.

Offensive MVP: Jeff Formeller
Defensive MVP: Tomas Kavanagh
Tom Plotkin Award: John Rejowski
Most Improved Player: Ross Catena

The captains for next season:

Matt Sambo, John Rejowski, John Koenig, Trevor Kinzie

And next year’s Co-Presidents:

John Rejowski and John Koenig

Eight Hawkeyes Honored With All-Conference Honors

The 2014 season came to end last weekend with a 11-4 loss to Indiana in the GRLC semifinals after defeating Illinois State in the first round, 10-5.  With the conclusion of the season, the GRLC named this year’s all-conference teams with eight Hawkeyes being named to the various teams.

All-GRLC Division I 1st Team: Frank Recchia (Midfield)

All-GRLC Division I 2nd Team: Austin Patrick (Attack), Tomas Kavanagh (Defense)

All-GRLC Division I 3rd Team: Jeff Formeller (Attack)

All-GRLC Division I Honorable Mention: Trevor Kinzie (Faceoff Specialist), Ross Catena (LSM), John Rejowski (Defensive Midfielder), Brandon Warshawsky (Goalie)

Iowa Heads To St. Louis For GRLC Tournament


The Hawkeyes finished up their regular season last weekend with a 9-6 loss to Missouri down in Columbia, Missouri to finish the regular season with a 8-5 record, including a 4-1 mark in GRLC play.

Iowa will now head to St. Louis (Washington University – South Campus) for the opening round of the GRLC Tournament.  As a No. 2 seed out of the West, the Hawks will take on No. 3E seed Illinois State on Friday at 9:30 PM.  Iowa defeated the Redbirds, 13-7, during the regular season.

If Iowa wins, they would play No. 1E Indiana on Saturday at 7:00 PM. And by chance Iowa wins that game, they would play in the championship game on Sunday at 3:00 PM (view bracket).

Photos taken throughout the season can be seen on Iowa’s official Shutterfly account, Facebook’s Iowa Men’s Lacrosse Fan Site and prosportpic.com.

Iowa Goes 1-1 In Opening Weekend


Iowa opened up its 2014 campaign with two games in Oxford, Ohio this past weekend.

The Hawkeyes defeated Ohio University, 12-7, in the season opener on Saturday afternoon.  Sophomore midfielder Austin Patrick paced the way with three goals and three assists while sophomore midfielder Cooper Perry added an additional three goals.  Goalkeeper Brandon Warshawsky saw most of the action between the pipes and made 15 saves.  Photos from the Ohio game can be found right here.

On Sunday, Iowa was unable to defeat Miami (OH) in its second game.  After trading two goals each in the first quarter, the Redhawks outscored Iowa 4-0 in the second quarter on their way to a 9-5 victory.  Iowa was led by two goals each from Cooper Perry and sophomore attackman Patric Russell.

Iowa next travels to Minnesota this upcoming weekend for non-conference games against Minnesota (Saturday) and Minnesota State-Mankato (Sunday).